Circular Block History

Circular Block History

The iconic Merchants Bank Building was built in 1834 as part of the old Circular Block, designed by architect George Pickering, for whom the nearby square is named. It has survived two fires, including the Great Fire of 1911, and the property as it’s now situated has been home to banks, men’s clothing retailers, convenience stores, hair salons, and more. The majority of the building sat empty from 2000 until the first tenants moved in during the early months of 2015.

Project History

Bangor Daily News, March 24, 2014

Bangor Daily News, May 29, 2014

Bangor Daily News, November 30, 2014